Marine Geosciences

Department Faculty


Falk C Amelung

Professor

f.amelung@miami.edu

(305) 421-4949
Active Volcanism and Tectonics, InSAR, Remote Sensing

Keir Becker

Professor

k.becker@miami.edu

(305) 421-4661
Heat flow and hydrothermal circulation in the oceanic crust; permeability and porosity of oceanic crust; borehole hydrogeological observatories.

Gregor Paul Eberli

Professor

g.eberli@miami.edu

(305) 421-4678
Sea-level changes, the record of environmental changes in the sedimentary record, seismic stratigraphy, petrophysics

James Klaus

Assoc. Professor

j.klaus@miami.edu

(305) 284-6792
Associate Professor, Department of Marine Geosciences, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

Guoqing Lin

Assoc. Professor

g.lin1@miami.edu

(305) 421-4150
Earthquake relocation, seismic velocity and attenuation tomography, volcano seismology, subduction earthquakes, and spatial/temporal variations of seismic properties.

Larry C. Peterson

Professor

l.peterson@miami.edu

(305) 421-4692
Reconstruction of past oceans and climates from marine sediments; abrupt climate change; deep sea sedimentation processes; stable isotope geochemistry of foraminifera.

Ali Pourmand

Assoc. Professor

a.pourmand@miami.edu

(305) 421-4662
My research interests range from the Cosmos to the Benthos and the Underworld, with special focus on applications of isotope geochemistry and extraction chromatography in paleoclimatology, paleoceanography, geoarcheology and cosmochemistry.

Sam Purkis

Professor
and Chair of the Department of Marine Geosciences

spurkis@rsmas.miami.edu

(305) 421-4351
At a young age I was fortunate enough to stumble on a copy of Jacques Cousteau’s 1953 book “The Silent World”, which piqued my interest in everything underwater. Shortly thereafter, I saw his movie of the same name. I was hooked. At the earliest possible opportunity I learnt to SCUBA dive, becoming a diving...

R. Pamela Reid

Professor

r.reid@miami.edu

(305) 421-4606
Carbonate sedimentation and diagenesis, geomicrobiology and biomineralization: formation and lithification of stromatolites; shallow-water alteration of carbonate skeletons; effects of sea level, volcanism and tectonics on processes of carbonate deposition.

Peter K Swart

Professor

p.swart@miami.edu

(305) 421-4103
Stable Isotope Geochemistry Stable Isotope Laboratory; Carbonate Diagenesis; Sedimentology and Petrology Comparative Sedimentology Laboratory ; Cosmochemistry.